1893: Debussy's String Quartet

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

1941 Broadway
New York, NY 10023

Alice Tully Hall

(212) 875-5788



Event Dates

Jan 14, 2020



Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Claude Debussy’s innovations made modern music possible. His only string quartet, the first truly Impressionist-style chamber music, opened a new era for the string quartet. Surrounding Debussy’s iconic work are Czech novelties both traditional and modernist, plus a milestone work of the German school, Brahms’s mighty A major Piano Quartet. Program: - Suk Elegie for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 23 (1902) - Janáček Sonata for Violin and Piano (1914-15) - Debussy Quartet in G minor for Strings, Op. 10 (1893) - Brahms Quartet No. 2 in A major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 26 (1861)